Account Closure Policies and Procedures FAQ (Staff)
This article provides answers to frequently asked questions regarding account closures and transitions for staff.
If you need information for faculty, see the article Account Closure Policies and Procedures FAQs (Faculty).
If you need information for students, see the article Account Closure Policies and Procedures FAQs (Students).
UChicago staff may contact their department with questions regarding their current status and service eligibility.
While full extensions are not possible, check with your department to see if you are eligible for certain services via the Trusted Agent Program.
Note: granting extensions is extremely rare and the account closure process is automated. If you have received account closure notices, you should expect your account to close at the specified time. Please note the date due to close unless you have heard otherwise.
Staff on long-term disability are not eligible for maintaining account services. You may reestablish services when you return to active status.
I'm a staff member who used to work full time. I have now taken a temporary position. May I still keep my account privileges?
Yes, both temporary and part-time positions are eligible for account services.
My severance agreement states that I can maintain my account services indefinitely. Why are you sending me a closure notice?
IT Services has no control over severance packages, and cannot grant exemptions to closure because of a severance package agreement. You should discuss the matter with your former department, who will need to work with HR Services.
Alert: All files still maintained in your UChicago account are immediately destroyed upon account closure and cannot be recovered.
You will lose email forwarding once your account services close.
I neglected to remove all my files before my account closed. Is there a way for me to get those files back?
No, once your account closure completes, your account and all files will be deleted irrevocably.
I misunderstood the notice and have neglected to remove all my files. Is there a way for me to get those files back?
No, once your account has closed your account and all files are destroyed. IT Services cannot retrieve them.
No, if you missed the notifications of account closure and your account closes, all files are destroyed.
May I opt to keep my wireless access active until the second closure (forty-two days after my first notification)?
No. Wireless access closes for everyone (with the exception of alumni, who maintain wireless access after they've left the university) one week after receiving the first notice of account closures (Day Ten after dropping out of Active status).
No, after your account is closed, all files are destroyed. You may claim new account services and will get the same CNetID that you had previously, but all files will be gone.
Because many of our clients contact me directly, my department would like to maintain my account as a departmental account once I leave. Is this possible?
Sharing accounts is a violation of the University of Chicago Policy on Information Technology Use and Access and is not allowed on IT Services systems. IT Services encourages staff members who are leaving the university to work with their departments to provide a smooth transition. There are several things that can help:
- During your transition away from the university, forward any email intended for the department to the appropriate person.
- Consider setting up a vacation message with both the new departmental contact information and your new personal contact information.
- Make sure that your department has set up a mailing list address for all public functions to limit the personal email exposure.