Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Accounts, Identity, & Security > Access Management
Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Email & Collaboration Tools > Email & Calendaring > G Suite
G Suite - Account Closure Guide
This article provides a guide for faculty and other academic appointees, students, and staff in managing their UChicago G Suite (formerly known as Google Apps) accounts after graduation/end of employment.
Many UChicago faculty and other academic appointees, students, and staff use the University-provided G Suite accounts (these used to be known as Google Apps accounts). This includes using the @uchicago.edu Gmail address and hosting and editing Google Docs, Sheets, and Drive documents using @uchicago.edu accounts.
After a student graduates from the University, he maintains access to full account services for two academic quarters (about six months). This grace period includes access to his UChicago G Suite account. After this grace period, student accounts enter a 45-day closure period, which includes, at the end of the period, cutting off access to UChicago G Suite accounts.
Faculty, other academic appointees, and staff do not have this grace period, and access to G Suite is terminated 45 days after the last date of employment.
Any data in these accounts, including Drive documents, Google Docs that you own, access to Google Docs that others have shared to your UChicago account, and emails, will be deleted unless you migrate, export, or otherwise save it. Below are some guides for migrating your data before your account is closed and you lose access:
Exporting Drive Documents
You can download your Google Drive documents to your personal computer or hard drive manually in order to preserve them. This must be done before your account is closed. See Google's help site for more details: https://support.google.com/drive/answer/2423534.
Maintaining Google Docs that You Own
When your account is closed, any Google Docs, Sheets, or Slides owned by you, no matter whom they are shared with, will be deleted, and anyone who has access to them will no longer have access. In order to preserve the documents and others' access to them, you should change the ownership of the file to either your personal Google account or to another person whose account is not closing. You must do this before your account closes to prevent the documents from disappearing. For instructions on changing document ownership, see Google's help page (you'll need to click "Change the owner of a file or folder"): https://support.google.com/docs/answer/2494893?hl=en.
Maintaining Access to Google Docs that have been Shared with You
When your account closes, you will lose access to any documents that have been shared with your UChicago G Suite account. In order to preserve your personal access, you will need the document owner to share the document with your personal account. This should be arranged on a case-by-case basis with the individual document owners.
Saving Other Google Data
You can download all or some of your Google data, including emails, contacts, calendars, Drive documents, and other information, using Google's Archive service. See Google's Download your data page for more details and instructions. Make sure you are logged in to your University Google account before downloading. Google's Archive tool gives you flexibility in what data you save and in which formats, so you can properly save all your data. Again, this must be done before your account fully closes.
The University automatically provides email forwarding service for graduating students. See our Email Options for Alumni page for more details.