Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Accounts, Identity, & Security > Access Management

Grouper - Setting Auto-Removal of Closed Accounts

This document explains the instructions for setting a Grouper group so that the system automatically removes closed accounts.

The closure of a user's account does not automatically remove them from a Grouper group. Therefore, groups may contain users that have left the University. For both security purposes and general upkeep, IT Services recommends using the "Closure" group type in order to remove users with accounts in closure. If "Closure" is enabled, accounts will automatically be removed from your group if they reach Closure Day 45, guaranteeing that closed accounts will not be able to authenticate into your services. If it is not enabled, your group may have closed accounts still in it, and these users may still be able to authenticate into your services if Grouper membership is used to determine this.

Applying the Closure Group Type to your Grouper Group

  1. Go to your group's page in Grouper
  2. Under the More Actions drop-down menu, select Admin UI: this will take you to the old user interface

  3. Select Edit group

  4. In the Select Group Types area, check the box next to Closure

  5. Click the Save button

For more information on Closure, see our document Account Closure, Eligibility & Information.

See Also:




Keywords:remove group closure   Doc ID:61873
Owner:William M.Group:University of Chicago
Created:2016-03-11 15:35 CSTUpdated:2016-04-21 13:28 CST
Sites:University of Chicago, University of Chicago - Sandbox
Feedback:  0   0