Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Email & Collaboration Tools > SharePoint 2010

SharePoint 2010 - Managing Alerts

This article explains how to manage alerts within a SharePoint site.


Alerts are notifications of changes to content on a site that you receive as email messages. You can use either the User Information page or the Manage Alerts on this Site page to view and cancel your alerts and change the settings for your alerts. If you have permission to manage a site, you can also view and cancel alerts for other people by using the User Alerts page.

This article focuses on how to manage alerts for yourself and for other people if you are a site administrator.

View my alerts on a site

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.

Change my alert settings

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.
  3. Click the name of the alert that you want to change.
  4. On the Edit Alert page, change the settings that you want to change.
  5. Click OK.

Tip: When you receive an email alert, you can click a link to see alert information on the site.

Cancel an alert for myself

  1. At the top of the site, click your name, and then click My Settings.
  2. On the User Information page, click My Alerts.
  3. Select the check box next to the alert that you want to cancel.
  4. Click Delete Selected Alerts.
  5. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK.

View alerts for other people on a site

To view alerts for other people, you must be a site owner.

  1. Click the Site Actions menu and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Site Administration, click User alerts.
  3. In the list next to Display alerts for, select the person whose alerts you want to view.
  4. Click the Update button.

Cancel an alert for another person

To cancel alerts for other people, you must be a site owner.

  1. Click Site Actions menu and then click Site Settings.
  2. On the Site Settings page, under Site Administration, click User alerts.
  3. In the list next to Display alerts for, select the person whose alerts you want to view.
  4. Click the Update button.
  5. Select the check box next to the alert that you want to cancel.
  6. Click Delete Selected Alerts.
  7. When you are prompted to confirm the deletion, click OK.

See Also:

SharePoint 2010 - Creating Alerts



Keywords:Share_Point, Collaboration, notifications   Doc ID:32690
Owner:Joe M.Group:University of Chicago
Created:2013-08-12 12:47 CDTUpdated:2017-04-13 08:51 CDT
Sites:University of Chicago, University of Chicago - Sandbox
Feedback:  23   5