Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Email & Collaboration Tools > SharePoint 2010
SharePoint 2010 - The Recycle Bin and Recovering Deleted Items
This article explains the two-stage recycle bin in SharePoint and how to recover deleted items.
In a SharePoint site, the recycle bin provides temporary storage for all items deleted from that site. The Recycle Bin can be accessed from below the quick launch bar on the left of the screen. SharePoint offers a two stage recycle bin so items that are deleted from the end user Recycle Bin may still be recoverable from the site collection Recycle Bin by a site collection administrator.
End User Recycle Bin
When you delete an item from your site, it's sent to the end user recycle bin and will remain there for up to 30 days. After 30 days, the item will be permanently deleted. Items in the 1st stage recycle bin count against the site quota and can be removed sooner if your site is nearing its quota. You will only be able to see items that you deleted in the end user recycle bin.
To recover or remove items from the End User Recycle Bin
- Click the Recycle Bin link below the Quick Launch menu.
- On the Recycle Bin page, check the boxes next to items that you want to restore (or remove).
- Click the Restore Selection link to restore the item(s) or the Delete Selection link to send the item(s) to the site collection Recycle Bin.
- Click OK.
Site Collection Recycle Bin
When an item is removed from the End User Recycle Bin, it is stored in the Site Collection Recycle Bin for the remainder of the 30 days. The items in the Site Collection Recycle Bin do not count against the site quota and its size is limited to 50% of your site's quota. If you exceed the quota, then the oldest items are purged to make room for new items. Only site collection administrators are able to recover files from the site collection Recycle Bin.
To recover files from the Site Collection Recycle Bin
- Click the Site Actions menu and the select Site Settings.
- Under the Site Collection Administration heading, select Recycle Bin
Note: You must be in the root site of the site collection to see this link. If you are not, first select Go to top level site settings. This will bring you to the site settings page of the root site.
- The site collection Recycle Bin has two views. Choose the appropriate view on the left of the screen.
- End user Recycle Bin items - displays items deleted by all users of the site.
- Deleted from end user Recycle Bin - displays items that have been removed from end user Recycle Bins.
- Check the box next to the item(s) to be recovered.
- Click Restore Selection to restore the item(s).
- Click OK.