Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Email & Collaboration Tools > Email & Calendaring > Outlook 2011 for Mac

Outlook 2011 for Mac - Empty the Deleted Items Folder

This article explains how to empty the Deleted Items Folder in Outlook 2011 for Mac.


Items that you delete are moved to the Deleted Items folder, but are not permanently deleted until that folder is emptied. Over time, the contents of the Deleted Items folder can consume a large amount of your data file or email mail account server storage quota.

Outlook can be configured to automatically empty the Deleted Items folder, or you can manually empty the folder at any time.

Automatically Empty the Deleted Items folder

  1. Click Tools, select Run Schedule from the drop-down list, and click Edit Schedules...
    Edit Schedules Link in Tools Drop-down Menu

  2. Double-click Empty Deleted Items Folder.
    Schedules Menu

  3. In the "When"section, change Manually to On Quit and click OK.
    Schedule Criteria Editor

To manually empty the deleted items folder, right-click the Deleted Items folder, and then click Empty Folder.




Keywords:trash, email   Doc ID:27339
Owner:Dan K.Group:University of Chicago
Created:2012-11-13 10:41 CDTUpdated:2017-05-22 09:40 CDT
Sites:University of Chicago, University of Chicago - Sandbox
Feedback:  8   0