Topics Map > University of Chicago > IT Services > Business Systems > Mainframe

Mainframe - 2003 OS/390 Upgrades

This article provides information about upgrades to the 2003 OS/390 mainframe.

01/01/03

All Online Regions were brought down by 5:30 PM on Tue, 12/31/02. From 8:00 PM Tue, 12/31/02, through 4:00 AM Thu, 01/02/03, the Mainframe ran unattended. TSO/ISPF was available and jobs not requiring Operator intervention ran. The UCHIBETA LPAR was not available on Wed, 01/01/03.

01/02-03/03

At the request of two Computing Partner groups, the UCHIBETA LPAR was available for Open Testing (no Exclusive Use allowed) on Thursday and Friday, 01/02-03/03.

01/03/03

During System Test Time on Friday, 01/03/03, we upgraded Operator consoles.

01/06/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 LPAR Monday, 1/6/03, at 6:00 AM. Also, as of Monday, 01/06/03, the UCHIBETA LPAR is being brought up on the new IBM Z800 Mainframe.

01/14/03

During System Test Time on Tuesday, 01/14/03, we tested Z800 IPL procedures for the Production (UCHIMVS1) LPAR. This was in preparation for an Open Partner Test of the Production LPAR on the new IBM Z800 which we are scheduling for Sunday, 1/19/03, from 10:00 AM until 4:00 PM.

01/19/03

On Sunday, 1/19/03, we IPLed the Production (UCHIMVS1) LPAR on the new IBM Z800 Mainframe to make the new Production environment available for Partner Testing. We had scheduled System Test Time on Sunday, 1/19, from 7:00 AM until 10:00 AM to prepare the testing environment but needed only until 8:30 for those preparations. Production testing hours were from 8:30 AM until 4:00 PM.

Back to top

02/02/03

We performed the migration of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR from the IBM 2003-136 to the new IBM Z800 Mainframe on Sunday, 2/2/03. UCHIMVS1 was unavailable from 8:00 until 10:45 AM. We scheduled another IPL of the UCHIMVS1 LPAR for 4:00 PM to ensure proper configuration for the DP96 Printers. The UCHIBETA LPAR was not brought up on Sunday, 2/2.

02/05/03

On Wednesday, 2/5/03, at 12:00 Noon, we brought down TPX on the UCHIBETA LPAR for testing purposes. This resulted in a loss of communications to BETA for about 15 minutes. TSO and Online Regions sessions on BETA were affected. We did not need to cancel any UCHIBETA Onlines. Communications with UCHIBETA were restored by 12:15 PM. UCHIMVS1 was NOT affected.

02/09/03

During System Test Time on Sunday, 2/9/03, from 7:00 AM until 12:00 Noon we worked on the TPX communications problem.

02/12/03

At the request of a Computing Partner group, the BETA LPAR was available until 18:38 on Wed, 2/12.

02/17/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 LPAR on Monday, 2/17/03, at 6:00 AM.

02/20/03

During System Test Time on Thursday, 2/20/03, from 6:00 until 7:30 AM we worked on Operator Console settings.

02/24/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Monday, 2/24/03, at 6:00 AM.

02/25/03

UCHIBETA was available until 19:30 on Tuesday, 2/25/03 at the request of a Computing Partner Group.

02/27/03

Production Shop personnel were involved in a training session from 1:00 until 4:00 PM Thursday, 2/27/03. Also, as of Thursday, 2/27/03, Version 2.5 of McKinney’s ISPF/VSAM Utilities has been available for testing in the UCHIBETA LPAR. The Production Version is 2.4. VSAM Utilities provides online access to VSAM functions such as Edit, Browse, Delete, Copy, and Rename.

02/28/03

Production Shop hours on Friday, 2/28/03, were 8:00 AM until 4:30 PM.

Back to top

03/03/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Monday, 3/3/03, at 6:00 AM.

03/09/03

During System Test Time on Sunday, 3/9/03, we installed a maintenance upgrade to the ESP job scheduler. This upgrade, which had been fully tested in the UCHIBETA LPAR, is in support of new functions for ESP Version 5 remote agents.

03/16/03

During System Test Time on Sunday, 3/16/03, we installed McKinney’s ISPF/VSAM Utilities Version 2.5 in Production. Version 2.5 had been available for testing in the UCHIBETA LPAR since 2/27/03.

03/17-19/03

At the request of a Computing Partner Group, the UCHIBETA LPAR was available for Open Testing (with no Exclusive Use granted) from Monday, 3/17/03, through Wednesday, 3/19/03.

03/20/03

Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR on Thursday, 3/20.

03/21-22/03

At the request of a Computing Partner Group, the UCHIBETA LPAR was available for Open Testing (with no Exclusive Use granted) on Friday and Saturday, 3/21-22/03.

03/24/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Mon, 3/24/03, at 6:00 AM.

03/30/03

During System Test Time on Sunday, 03/30/03, we configured Mainframe LPARs for the future use of Z/VM and Linux.

Back to top

04/02/03

Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR on Wednesday, 4/2/03, to test OS/390 2.10 in that clone of the Production environment. Open Testing resumed on Thursday, 4/3.

04/03-04/03

At the request of a Computing Partner Group, the UCHIBETA LPAR was available for Open Testing (with no Exclusive Use granted) on Thursday and Friday, 4/3-4/03.

04/06/03

We IPLed the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Sunday, 4/6/03, at about 6:00 AM Central Standard (Machine) Time. The IPL completed automated processes which brought the Mainframe into Daylight Saving Time.

04/09/03

Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR on Wednesday, 4/9/03, to continue testing OS/390 2.10 in the Production clone. Open Testing resumed on Thursday, 4/10/03. Also on 4/9/03, we declared a freeze on modifications to the existing OS/390 2.8 Production Operating System. No new products or new releases of existing products will be added to the current Production Operating System.

04/11/03

Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR on Friday, 4/11/03, to continue testing OS/390 2.10 in the Production clone. Open Testing resumed on Saturday, 4/12/03.

04/14/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Monday, 4/14/03.

04/14-18/03

The Production Shop was open from 8:00 AM until 4:30 PM on Monday through Friday, 4/14-18/03, resuming its normal schedule of 8:00 AM until 6:00 PM on Monday, 4/21/03.

04/15/03

Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR on Tuesday, 4/15/03, to continue testing OS/390 2.10 in the Production clone. Open Testing resumed on Wednesday, 4/16/03.

04/17/03

During System Test Time on Thu, 4/17/03, we continued work on preparations for Linux LPARs on the Mainframe. Also on Thu, 4/17/03, Data Center Services’ Systems Group had Exclusive Use of the UCHIBETA LPAR to continue testing OS/390 2.10. Open Testing resumed on Fri, 4/18/03.

04/21/03

We performed an IPL of the UCHIMVS1 (Production) LPAR on Monday, 4/21/03.

04/23/03

OS/390 2.10 available for Open Testing in UCHIBETA weekdays starting Wednesday, 4/23/03.

04/28/03

Back to top




Keywords:history   Doc ID:19404
Owner:Todd L.Group:University of Chicago
Created:2011-08-02 18:00 CSTUpdated:2013-02-14 10:40 CST
Sites:University of Chicago, University of Chicago - Sandbox
Feedback:  0   0