This article discusses account closures, transitions, and eligibility for account services.
Every day, IT Services collects records and data from across the campus to determine whose eligibility for service has ended, as well as who has newly arrived at the University and become eligible. IT Services acts on the decisions made across the institution; those decisions determine who has service and who does not. The closure process is designed to close the accounts of individuals who are no longer listed as eligible in the records and data we have. You must contact your department to correct your records if you believe you should retain your account.
Below, you'll find a graphical timeline, a more detailed written timeline, and information about what to do if you have problems. Note that certain categories of individuals may retain services after their accounts go through this process. Information about these categories is included below.
For information about migrating your email and other things you may want to do during this process, see the Preparing for Account Transition or Closure document.
Here's a basic chart showing the closure process, from day one to day 45. This process will stop immediately and any lost privileges will be restored if the individual returns to an eligible status.
For more detail, here's a written timeline:
See the IT Services Account Closure Policies and Procedures for the official policy details.
Please be aware that IT Services collects data from various entities on campus to determine who is and is not eligible for closure, then acts on that data.Your eligibility is not governedby IT Services.
If you believe you should not be in the closure process, but you continue to receive warnings, you should contact your department promptly to avoid the potential loss of any important files. Your department may then confirm your details with the proper office on campus. Only your department can initiate a correction of the records that show you as ineligible. Contacting IT Services about your closure will not cause your account to be reopened. IT Services does not grant temporary extensions to accounts in closure for any reason.
Once the proper steps have been taken and IT Services receives updated information about your eligibility, you will receive an email noting that your account transition process has been stopped. Upon receipt of that email, any services locked by the closure process will be restored and your account will once again be fully active. Be aware that offices move at different speeds. If you receive additional closure notifications, you should check with the proper individuals again.
All account holders maintain access to their CNetID and password, but for all but the groups noted below, the CNetID and password will not provide access to any services.
University of Chicago alumni retain access to the services listed below:
Note: Alumni may not pay to retain proxy access, email accounts, and other services.
Closure of your CNet account by IT Services does not influence your Booth or Email4Life accounts. The Email4Life account system is not managed by IT Services.
Booth School of Business alumni retain a number of services through the school itself. If you are an alum of the Booth school, please see the Booth's alumni resources pages.
Former students will retain online transcript access.